Movies About Photography

pecker_4huuc

40-movies-about-photography

I share this list hesitantly. As you will see in the comments section, it is a flawed list. But there are some fine films listed here. For me, the most notable omissions are also three of the finest documentaries about photographers there are. Two of which I have shown in my classes every semester for years. These films are:

  • What Remains: The Life and Work of Sally Mann (Amazon)
  • The True Meaning of Pictures: Shelby Lee Adams’ Appalachia (iMDB)  
  • Waste Land (Vic Muniz) (iMDB)

And there are a few other omissions as well. In particular, Brief Encounters (Gregory Crewdson), The Woodmans (Francesca Woodman) and Salt of the Earth (Salvador Salgado) would make my list of documentaries. I’d add Bang Bang Club, Eyes of Laura Mars, and Funny Face to the narrative films.

Here’s another list from iMDB with many films I haven’t seen: http://www.imdb.com/list/ls050632059/

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Movies About Photography”

  1. kristisommerfeld72 Says:

    Funny Face like Audrey Hepburn, and Fred Astaire? Good movie. Thank you for sharing this. I did a photo history class paper on Adams. I learned a lot about him. The film was good too.

Leave a Reply

